PDA

View Full Version : Playing live shows on an Ipod


Tahoetoeknee
2005-01-04, 06:47 PM
The only way I can play my shows on my Ipod without gaps is to create on large file to play, I don't like this because I can't search songs. anyone got ideas to fix this?
:hmm:

Horace
2005-01-04, 07:18 PM
Same problem on my Rio Sport.
Horace

carlton68
2005-01-04, 07:19 PM
there isnt a way to fix it,only to deal with it or put the whole show in one file like you said.It kinda bums me out also

uhclem
2005-01-05, 12:08 AM
Pardon my ignorance but I assume we are talking mp3 here? If that's the case, have you tried encoding your mp3s with LAME using the --nogap switch? This is supposed to make a set of mp3s gapless. Whether it would make a difference or not on an ipod, I don't know. But it couldn't hurt to try.

btw carlton, nice avatar :thumbsup

LewZealand
2005-01-05, 12:15 AM
What about Apple Lossless (http://www.apple.com/itunes/import.html)? That may be an option (http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=107957) for you.

RainDawg
2005-01-05, 08:31 AM
From what I've heard, the iPod has a skip between ALL songs it plays, even if direct Apple Lossless is used. Sorry guys, but you should have overlooked aesthetics and gone with functionality when choosing your portable.... :mad:

ssamadhi97
2005-01-05, 12:53 PM
Pardon my ignorance but I assume we are talking mp3 here? If that's the case, have you tried encoding your mp3s with LAME using the --nogap switch? This is supposed to make a set of mp3s gapless.
--nogap is experimental, its use doesn't seem to be encouraged.

A quick search on HA turned up these posts:
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=27517&view=findpost&p=241732
http://www.hydrogenaudio.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=4763&view=findpost&p=122742

willndmb
2005-01-05, 02:52 PM
never tried it, but if it bothers you that much try using wav/aiff
iTunes will go DAO with wav/aiff but not with mp3/aac
iPod might be the same way, again i never tried it--the only time it bothers me is if a song goes into another

RainDawg
2005-01-06, 08:00 AM
The iPod has a fundamental weakness in it's firmware that prevents it from playing songs perfectly gaplessly. It's something that a company with the development power of Apple should have no excuse for not doing, but they've completely neglected to address this weakness.

TheMamba
2005-01-06, 10:00 AM
Well, they could address this in a firmware update, right?

Maybe if enough of us bug them, it'll happen.....

Tahoetoeknee
2005-01-06, 11:06 AM
Go to my post in general discustion.....
Ipod gapless playback help

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Could everyone go here and give apple feedback on the lack of capatability to play gapless albums http://www.apple.com/feedback/ipod.html
please help......