PDA

View Full Version : Help with DVD shrink (compressing)


thisistoto
2006-06-04, 07:41 PM
Im trying to compress a video_ts folder to fit onto a regular dvd5 dvd-r. everytime i go to hit backup with this one folder it says it will not fit onto a regular dvd-r ( i cant use a dl). I have tried to play with the preferences but with no luck. Thanks in advance.

kILLURIDOL
2006-06-04, 08:05 PM
dont know if this will help, but whenever I use it, I always try and skip out on the extra features to save space and quality...who needs audio commentary anyways...

obcd
2006-06-04, 08:07 PM
please don't use dvd shrink in anyway, it produces shitty results
it's not reencoding the video but transcoding it, which means that even if the time needed is small, the resulting video is bad. use cinema craft encoder to re encode a dvd, or be damned :D

see http://www.doom9.org

thisistoto
2006-06-05, 06:19 PM
dont know if this will help, but whenever I use it, I always try and skip out on the extra features to save space and quality...who needs audio commentary anyways...

this dvd doesnt have any, thanks though.

kILLURIDOL
2006-06-05, 07:29 PM
Another trick you could use, have you ever tried AutogK (gordion knot)...You could turn it into an AVI, then if you have the capability, convert to back dvd...at that point it should be comperessed enough. I had a PAL disc, couldnt figure out how to convert to NTSC, so I used AutoGK to convert to AVI, then converted the AVI back to DVD...(ntsc).. worked like a charm

or just pick up a DV9.

hanshak2015
2006-06-05, 07:51 PM
Did you set the shrinking percentages manually, or did you use the auto settings? Did you attempt to throw away any of the original DVD's audio / subtitle tracks?

thisistoto
2006-06-05, 08:18 PM
I did auto settings, and there are no subtitle tracks.

jackbutler
2006-06-05, 09:44 PM
please don't use dvd shrink in anyway, it produces shitty results
it's not reencoding the video but transcoding it, which means that even if the time needed is small, the resulting video is bad. use cinema craft encoder to re encode a dvd, or be damned :D

see http://www.doom9.org

I have to agree here 100%. If you are going to encode anything the only way to go (as far as I am concerned) is CCE!! All of the transcoding programs produce varying results depending on how much reduction you do but none of it compares to CCE. And, as obcd said, www.doom9.org is a great place to go if you have never been there :)

thisistoto
2006-06-13, 02:31 AM
Any other help?

mgleason007
2006-06-13, 07:07 PM
Any other help?
Did you try anything that's been suggested? DVD Shrink isn't going to do it for you.

thisistoto
2006-06-14, 04:09 PM
I have tried everything about, I cant really figure out how CCE works.


I could care less about quality on this dvd, I just want it to fit onto a DVD5.

TheHermit
2006-06-14, 10:37 PM
In preferences what is the dvd size set at? If it's set at 4.3GB then the automatic settings should be set to compress everything on the dvd to 4.3GB.

Is there any red in the size bar?

Could you put up a screenshot or two?

joemc
2006-06-16, 04:52 AM
hi, what size is the dvd you are trying to shrink?, everything has its limits and if you are getting up to 7-8gig then you need to put on 2 dvds using a splitter prog and dont forget, the more times you compress and decompress the less quality you will end up with. must disagree about dvd shrink, i have always found it very good in a quality and a working way, been using it for about 3 years.

joe

Nymrod
2006-06-16, 09:38 AM
I'm with joemc-
I've crunched almost 100 DVDs with DVD shrink, and never, when watching one later, would I think to myself, "What crappy compression. Look at all those unsightly artifacts!"

thisistoto
2006-06-17, 06:24 AM
In preferences what is the dvd size set at? If it's set at 4.3GB then the automatic settings should be set to compress everything on the dvd to 4.3GB.

Is there any red in the size bar?

Could you put up a screenshot or two?


Thanks for the response.

Yea, I have it set to DVD5, 4.7 gigs. THe original is about 7.3 or so.

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/3624/untitled28zp.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

TheHermit
2006-06-17, 06:46 AM
I think the problem is that DVDShrink will only compress so much (percentage-wise), notice how the slider under the "Automatic" drop down menu is all the way to the left? Thats as low as the program will compress it. With the video being 3.6GB and the audio being ~900MB, thats a little too much for a single layer dvd.

What I would do is just compress the whole thing by about 500MB or so (use "Custom Ratio" in the drop down menu), then run it through DVDShrink again and compress to 4.3GB (set to automatic). Seems the only way around the current problem.

See if that works.

thisistoto
2006-06-17, 06:50 PM
I think the problem is that DVDShrink will only compress so much (percentage-wise), notice how the slider under the "Automatic" drop down menu is all the way to the left? Thats as low as the program will compress it. With the video being 3.6GB and the audio being ~900MB, thats a little too much for a single layer dvd.

What I would do is just compress the whole thing by about 500MB or so (use "Custom Ratio" in the drop down menu), then run it through DVDShrink again and compress to 4.3GB (set to automatic). Seems the only way around the current problem.

See if that works.


good idea, ill try it.

E_rock
2006-06-17, 11:31 PM
(If this is that Kid Rock vid that was seeded here, the size is about right)
Nero Recode 2, That's what I used, worked like a charm, No noticeable reduction in quality.

thisistoto
2006-06-20, 01:38 AM
(If this is that Kid Rock vid that was seeded here, the size is about right)
Nero Recode 2, That's what I used, worked like a charm, No noticeable reduction in quality.



lol, no it wasnt.


i ran it through dvd shrink twice and it worked out perfectly. thanks.

TheHermit
2006-06-20, 11:00 AM
No problem, glad I could help. :)