PDA

View Full Version : Fractional T1 Speed


aikox2
2006-05-18, 06:59 PM
Hey now,

I just started a new job, and I was psyched that I would finally have some upload bandwidth on our T1. I have since learned that we have a fractional T1, and only 4 channels are for data, the other 10 for voice.

My question is: what would those 4 tracks allow for upload?

I started a test upload with no cap, and my boss immediately noticed a severe drain on the network : (

I am trying to get an idea of how fat our pipe is. It looks like it might not be much better than my home connection.

From what I can gather, it might be a measly 256 KB/s : (

I need an idea of the throughput of these 4 channels so I know how much I may be able to divert to better use; i.e. TDD.

Thanks,
Aiko

jazzbo
2006-05-18, 07:14 PM
A single T1 is 1.544 Mbs, so a full T1 will get around 193 KB/s but the speed will be dedicated.

If the 14 channels are split evenly, one channel might 13-14 KB/s.

The d/l may not be any better than your home connection, the u/l should be, possibly significantly so.

U2Lynne
2006-05-18, 08:07 PM
You can always try a speed test. Just Google "Speed Test T1" and you should get a bunch of hits.

(Don't forget that you usually need to divide the speed test results (bits per second) by 8 in order to get the bittorrent speed that most clients show (bytes per second).)