PDA

View Full Version : DVD drive slow as molasses all of a sudden


feralicious
2006-03-15, 10:33 PM
So my new drive is slow all of a sudden on dvds. It's only reading and writing at about 1.6x.

I was trying to get something off of an archived dvd-r and it wouldn't read it. But my laptop would. So I thought maybe I need to flash the firmware. I downloaded it, double clicked on it, and the window came up telling me I already had that version so I canceled. Now it's slow as molasses for dvds. It burned a cd-rw at 10x which is the highest speed of that media and is normal.

Anyone know what might have happened and how I can fix it up? I guess I can tell it to actually flash the firmware and see if that works, but wanted to see if anyone had any ideas first.

Windows XP SP2
NEC-3550a

LocalHero
2006-03-15, 11:18 PM
A.) Make sure DMA mode is on. Some faulty data can cause it to revert back to PIO mode.

1.) Right Click on My Computer
2.) Click Properties
3.) Click the Hardware Tab, and then Device Manager
4.) Click the plus sign next to "IDE ATA..."
5.) Right click on either the primary or secondary IDE controllers and hit "properties". Here it really depends on what IDE channel If you have one marked "secondary IDE...", then I'm 90% sure that it is connected to that one.
6.) Now that your in the Properties tab of the either IDE controller, click on "Advanced Settings"
7.) Look at what "Current Transfer Mode" says. Post back with the results.


B.) Try different media. (in terms of burning)

saltman
2006-03-15, 11:34 PM
A.) Make sure DMA mode is on. Some faulty data can cause it to revert back to PIO mode.

1.) Right Click on My Computer
2.) Click Properties
3.) Click the Hardware Tab, and then Device Manager
4.) Click the plus sign next to "IDE ATA..."
5.) Right click on either the primary or secondary IDE controllers and hit "properties". Here it really depends on what IDE channel If you have one marked "secondary IDE...", then I'm 90% sure that it is connected to that one.
6.) Now that your in the Properties tab of the either IDE controller, click on "Advanced Settings"
7.) Look at what "Current Transfer Mode" says. Post back with the results.
B.) Try different media. (in terms of burning)
Those are very good suggestions. Is it holding the buffer or having trouble filling the buffer. My last dvd drive did what you described right before it went bad. Next stage was right errors and then power calibration errors.

LocalHero
2006-03-16, 12:05 AM
Those are very good suggestions. Is it holding the buffer or having trouble filling the buffer. My last dvd drive did what you described right before it went bad. Next stage was right errors and then power calibration errors.

Under PIO mode, the buffer would fluctuate, write speed would be slow, and there would be errors on the disc. I called Gateway about it. They didn't have a clue and sent me a new drive for no reason at all. All it was was a change of the modes, I eventually fixed it myself. :disbelief

AAR.oner
2006-03-16, 07:42 AM
my px716 drive has been acting up too [bouncing buffer levels, slow read/write speeds, etc], so i thought i'd check the properties like you said Local...

the Secondary IDE Channel says that both Device 0 is in "Ultra DMA Mode 5" & Device 1 is in "Ultra DMA Mode 5"...both are set to "DMA if available" for Transfer Mode

the Primary IDE Channel says that both Device 0 is in "Ultra DMA Mode 5" & Device 1 is in "PIO Mode"... but both are set to "DMA if available" for Transfer Mode...

so if Device 1 on my Primary IDE channel is set to "DMA if available" but still in "PIO Mode" how do i change it?

thanks for this info by the way :thumbsup

skyline
2006-03-16, 08:09 AM
I had this happen once a year or so ago. I did EVERYTHING. Firmware, changed ever possible setting, etc.

Ended up just buying a new drive. Put a cdr in and had the same problem with the new drive.

Turned out, I had just gotten a bad batch of Fuji cdrs. I was shocked, since Fuji is typically so reliable. I went and got some new cds, and both drives worked perfectly. :rolleyes:

LocalHero
2006-03-16, 08:56 AM
so if Device 1 on my Primary IDE channel is set to "DMA if available" but still in "PIO Mode" how do i change it?



Every computer is set up differently. So on some machines your CD/DVD drive could be connected to your primary IDE channel, and sometimes it could be connected to your secondary.

You question is the exact problem I had. I set it to DMA if available, rebooted and it stayed in PIO. To get it back into DMA, I figured out that you can actually delete the device (Win XP SP2), and then when Windows reboots it will automically re-install the device with the proper mode. (DMA) Try that.

feralicious
2006-03-16, 11:56 AM
A.) Make sure DMA mode is on. Some faulty data can cause it to revert back to PIO mode.

1.) Right Click on My Computer
2.) Click Properties
3.) Click the Hardware Tab, and then Device Manager
4.) Click the plus sign next to "IDE ATA..."
5.) Right click on either the primary or secondary IDE controllers and hit "properties". Here it really depends on what IDE channel If you have one marked "secondary IDE...", then I'm 90% sure that it is connected to that one.
6.) Now that your in the Properties tab of the either IDE controller, click on "Advanced Settings"
7.) Look at what "Current Transfer Mode" says. Post back with the results.


B.) Try different media. (in terms of burning)Aha! I think that's it! For my secondary (which I believe is where my drive is since it's on it's own cable and not on the same cable as my system drive which I would assume is on the primary) it had it set for Device 0 (which my dvd-r drive is) as PIO only and Transfer Mode as PIO. So I changed it to DMA if available, I'm going to reboot and hope that does the trick. Thanks! I heard about this before but would never have remembered it.

feralicious
2006-03-16, 12:09 PM
:(

After the reboot it still says Current Transfer Mode PIO only and it's taking about 8 min. to copy off a 780mb show from a DVD. Hm... maybe I delete my driver and reboot.... that sounds familiar....

feralicious
2006-03-16, 12:19 PM
Found new hardware but still says Transfer Mode PIO only. :(

LocalHero
2006-03-16, 12:21 PM
Found new hardware but still says Transfer Mode PIO only. :(

:hmm: How old is the drive/computer?

feralicious
2006-03-16, 01:10 PM
The computer... who knows... it's homemade and I replace parts as needed. I just put the drive in a month or two ago. It was working fine until a couple days ago. I wonder if when I went to flash the firmware and canceled since it wasn't newer something happened? I guess I should flash it.

LocalHero
2006-03-16, 03:15 PM
The computer... who knows... it's homemade and I replace parts as needed. I just put the drive in a month or two ago. It was working fine until a couple days ago. I wonder if when I went to flash the firmware and canceled since it wasn't newer something happened? I guess I should flash it.


That is really odd...I've run out of things to blame it on. :cool:

I was about to say that it might be a faulty IDE cable, but not after two months. :rolleyes:

feralicious
2006-03-16, 04:02 PM
Ah you just reminded me... I was going to reseat (?) the cable. I'll try that now first.

nkramar78
2006-03-16, 04:43 PM
Another fix I've found to make the switch to DMA:

Run REGEDIT. Go to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

It has subkeys like 0000, 0001, 0002, etc. Normally 0001 is the primary IDE channel, 0002 the secondary, but other numbers can occur under certain circumstances. You have to go through these subkeys and check the DriverDesc value until you find the proper IDE channel.

Delete MasterIdDataChecksum or SlaveIdDataChecksum, depending on whether the device in question is attached as master or slave, but it can't actually hurt to delete both. Reboot. The drive DMA capabilities will be redetected.

If you're wary of deleting the values altogether, it is sufficient to empty the content of these values. But you can also delete the values entirely - Windows will automatically recreate them anyway, with new content.

feralicious
2006-03-16, 05:39 PM
Okay, trying this... I backed up the reg just in case.

feralicious
2006-03-16, 05:47 PM
Another fix I've found to make the switch to DMA:

Run REGEDIT. Go to the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}

It has subkeys like 0000, 0001, 0002, etc. Normally 0001 is the primary IDE channel, 0002 the secondary, but other numbers can occur under certain circumstances. You have to go through these subkeys and check the DriverDesc value until you find the proper IDE channel.

Delete MasterIdDataChecksum or SlaveIdDataChecksum, depending on whether the device in question is attached as master or slave, but it can't actually hurt to delete both. Reboot. The drive DMA capabilities will be redetected.

If you're wary of deleting the values altogether, it is sufficient to empty the content of these values. But you can also delete the values entirely - Windows will automatically recreate them anyway, with new content.
YOU RAWK!!! That worked. Just copied a show off a dvd in 1 min. that took 7-8 min before.

Thank you sooooooooooooooooo much!!!

LocalHero
2006-03-16, 06:07 PM
Wow. :disbelief :rolleyes:

nkramar78
2006-03-16, 06:11 PM
YOU RAWK!!! That worked. Just copied a show off a dvd in 1 min. that took 7-8 min before.

Thank you sooooooooooooooooo much!!!


Don't thank me... thank the guide I found online to do it. :)

AAR.oner
2006-03-19, 07:53 AM
werd! thanks for the tips everyone...i can finally burn DVDs again :clap: :thumbsup

randytravis
2006-03-22, 08:54 PM
which firmware are you flashing it with? I just flashed my gf's 3550 with the 1.Y5 firmware (rpc1) here and had good results:
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=157109


I've been using Liggy & Dee firmwares on my nec drives for two years with no problems, much better than the stock firmware. although your issue doesn't seem like a firmware issue, just thought I'd mention it :)

fanofthemule
2006-03-24, 08:17 PM
Don't thank me... thank the guide I found online to do it. :)

I wanted to add another "thank you" for this information, it helped fix my very frustrating problem. You guys rawk :thumbsup

nkramar78
2006-03-24, 08:36 PM
I wanted to add another "thank you" for this information, it helped fix my very frustrating problem. You guys rawk :thumbsup

Glad to help.

Just an FYI for anyone who's done this... If you're using this on your primary DVD drive (if used for reading and writing DVDs), it may revert back to PIO mode if a disc it's attempting to read has errors on it. If this happens, just delete the registry entries again, reboot and it should be good as new. :cool:

dementrium
2006-03-24, 08:37 PM
I'm in the crowd saying THANK YOU to nkramar78... and maybe we should send him/her some beautiful flowers :thumbsup

I bought a dvd burner a month ago and was burning at 1-1.25 hours... and thinking that was a "normal" behaviour :headbang2 ... until I read this thread.

I guess my problem was from an ancient drive on the secondary IDE.

For those who wants to read more and what the exact procedures are, here it is the (supossedly) referred article:

http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm

EDIT: And thanks to LocalHero too!! He was right on spot, too.

nkramar78
2006-03-24, 08:50 PM
I'm in the crowd saying THANK YOU to nkramar78... and maybe we should send him/her some beautiful flowers :thumbsup

I bought a dvd burner a month ago and was burning at 1-1.25 hours... and thinking that was a "normal" behaviour :headbang2 ... until I read this thread.

I guess my problem was from an ancient drive on the secondary IDE.

For those who wants to read more and what the exact procedures are, here it is the (supossedly) referred article:

http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm

EDIT: And thanks to LocalHero too!! He was right on spot, too.

LOL. I didn't even have that link anymore... I'd copied it to a txt file and stored it on my hard drive.

Nice find. :clap:

(I'm a him, by the way.)

fanofthemule
2006-03-24, 09:03 PM
I'm in the crowd saying THANK YOU to nkramar78... and maybe we should send him/her some beautiful flowers :thumbsup

I bought a dvd burner a month ago and was burning at 1-1.25 hours... and thinking that was a "normal" behaviour :headbang2 ... until I read this thread.

I guess my problem was from an ancient drive on the secondary IDE.

For those who wants to read more and what the exact procedures are, here it is the (supossedly) referred article:

http://www.michna.com/kb/WxDMA.htm

EDIT: And thanks to LocalHero too!! He was right on spot, too.

Thanks for the link, I bookmarked the page in hopes to help someone else who is having the same problem. I was frustrated for almost 2 weeks before I found this thread.

Seriously, thanks again :clap: I feel like I have my computer back :D

greenheatherc
2006-03-25, 04:25 PM
I think this thread should definitely make its way into the TB archive.....also, staff has some guides we've been werking on, and I think this might go into a "common problems" section.

Can't thank you enough nkramar78. You deserve the Denster Of The Month award :clap:

LocalHero
2006-03-25, 06:11 PM
You're most certainly welcome. :)

feralicious
2006-03-25, 07:59 PM
You're most certainly welcome. :)Awww... poor LocalHero... thanks to you too. You were so helpful and identified the correct problem, so THANK YOU VERY VERY VERY VERY VERY MUCH for that. :clap: :clap:
Just so happens that the fix that nk____ posted was the one that finally worked for me.

discocape
2006-04-16, 04:03 AM
Thank you so much, I had been out of commission of a couple weeks and getting very frustrated, thanks a lot!!! :clap: :clap:

wss79
2006-04-21, 03:27 PM
This is the best thread ever. I have had this problem forever. I can now burn DVDs in 4 min.
Thanks to everyone

feralicious
2006-07-14, 05:53 PM
:bump:

ohkeepa
2006-07-14, 05:56 PM
:wave: