PDA

View Full Version : How big a Hard Drive needed?

Homebrew101
2006-03-14, 11:03 AM
Hi all, I'm a newbie so bear with me. I just learned of these type of communities and, awesome! I can't afford a new pc and only have a 30G HD - I know that isn't sufficient. What is my best bet for upgrading? I'm thinking I should add a 250-300G HD as a 2nd HD and just source all bit-torrents to/from there?

How does this sound? Any pros/cons? I'm pretty sure I have room for another internal and there are 250G ones pretty cheap. I don't have a dvd burner and in order to share, I don't want to delete flac files until long after everyone gets their files, then I would back up flac's to cdr so I think 250G should work OK.

fanofthemule
2006-03-14, 11:21 AM
I just bought a Seagate 160 GB external hard drive for $90. It connects through the USB port, so it's plug and play ready. It took me longer to open the box than it did to set it up.

I too wanted a hard drive in the 250-300 gig range, but decided to just buy 2 of these instead.

TheMamba
2006-03-14, 11:31 AM
Plain and simple - get the biggest you can afford. 250 GB is a pretty decent sized drive.

Getting a DVD burner is even cheaper.

ColinM
2006-03-14, 12:05 PM
Between 5 drives, I have 500 gb of storage, and they're all at 80-90% capacity (my OS drive is the only one at 50%). The shows tend to stay active for a long time, so I am forcing myself to burn to a master dvd or cd for long term storage and remove from the hard drive.

It's very very difficult. Once you get to a point where you have dozens and dozens of shows, it becomes important to have a system so you don't lose them.

1) Put all new stuff into a folder.

2) Once you listen to it, remove it from your bittorrent client and palce in another folder; keep or discard.

3) At that point, burn your copy for long term storage if you're going to keep it.

4) Restart the .torrent file at its new folder.

I recommend restarting the show even if you didn't keep it.

thisistoto