PDA

View Full Version : what BitTorrent program should i use.?


bigwurock
2006-03-02, 07:54 PM
what seems to be the easiest BitTorrent program for a beginner that i am..??..i have windows XP if that matters...thanks..

U2Lynne
2006-03-02, 08:16 PM
Well, the absolute easiest is the original BitTorrent program. It's pretty no-frills, but at the same time, since it doesn't have a million options, it's extremely easy to use.

Chuffer
2006-03-02, 08:19 PM
I have been using bit torrent for a few years. Its simple and gets the job done.

bigwurock
2006-03-02, 08:36 PM
can i also upload shows with the original bit torrent..also any link to go to download it..?? thans much..

TheMamba
2006-03-02, 08:38 PM
http://www.bittorrent.com/

Chachi420
2006-03-02, 09:01 PM
azureus

no question, it is the best

bigwurock
2006-03-02, 09:40 PM
do i have to open any ports or allow mcafee to allow access..??..

U2Lynne
2006-03-02, 09:46 PM
You will have to open any ports or allow mcafee access for any bittorrent client. Well, you will have to open the ports if you want to be able to connect to the most people and thus get the best rates possible, that is.

Azureus is a great program, as Chachi said, but if you are just getting started and want something easy, then bittorrent is going to be easier. When you get comfortable with torrenting, then you can try out other bt applications.

bigwurock
2006-03-02, 10:36 PM
ok...so now how do i open the ports that need to be open and how to open them...windows XP...sorry for all the dumb ??..i am new to this...thanks..

U2Lynne
2006-03-02, 11:11 PM
I have some links in my sig about firewalls that you should look at. There are more links in the FAQ, too.

randytravis
2006-03-03, 04:52 AM
I used to use BitTornado for a long while, then started using uTorrent about five months ago. great client:
http://utorrent.com/

small footprint, light on resources, gets good speeds when configured properly, follow the speed guide here, and you should be good to go:
http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=3912

bigwurock
2006-03-03, 11:11 AM
lynn...i go through the steps using the XP you have...i have no windows firewall icon listed...any ideas..it still shows i am firewalled

U2Lynne
2006-03-03, 11:18 AM
Did you forward your ports through your router? And do you have the same ports listed within your bittorrent client?

Also, I've heard some people say you need to restart your computer after forwarding ports through your XP firewall.

bigwurock
2006-03-03, 11:28 AM
i downloaded the original BitTorrent program...i didn't see anything on port numbers...where can i find any of my ports listed on my computer..?

U2Lynne
2006-03-03, 12:04 PM
In bittorrent, go to Preferences and in the Global tab it asks for your TCP port. That is the starting port (if you want to forward 6881-6885, then you would put the lowest number, 6881, there). Then, you go to your router and forward those same ports there (go to portforward.com for help with your router).

bigwurock
2006-03-03, 12:11 PM
ok thanks so much lynne :)