PDA

View Full Version : BT Speeds all-of-a-sudden suck


RainDawg
2004-12-18, 02:04 PM
So...more of the same BT firewalling voodoo maybe? I just recently upgraded a few components in the Windows update, I'm running XP Pro SP2. I'm not sure if that's what caused it, but all of a sudden I am unable to get any reasonable speeds in Azureus or BitTornado or even connect to many of the peers. I am getting green lights, but I am only able to get connected to 2-3 peers, though my max is set to 40.

The problem has been on multiple trackers, include TTD, EZT, Etree, SuprNova, and a few other lesser-known ones.

So...is there something in the newest XP update patches that could be doing this, or maybe is my ISP doing something to cap my speeds. Normal web-browsing and usenet downloading still screams, but the BTs are dreadful.

jcrab66
2004-12-18, 02:25 PM
I'm also running XP PRO SP2 and have had absolutely no problems with speed or connection changes on any tracker i have used. I am using the latest version of Torrentstorm for a client.......which windows updates did you install?

RainDawg
2004-12-18, 02:29 PM
Interestingly, as I look at it through the EZT window, it says that I've been idle for the same amount of time that I've been connected to the torrent? What does that even mean? I jsut can't figure this one out, but I know that SOMETHING is screwy.

You can clearly see I'm connected to quite a few peers, but none of them are getting any speed at all; this is quite rare for me, as I usually have a very fast connection.

RainDawg
2004-12-18, 02:40 PM
I'm not sure what I installed. Somehow XP just started downloading stuff...it doesn't really tell you what it's doing. I'm not sure how to go back and check exactly what has been done to my system.

oldbrokentapes
2004-12-18, 03:07 PM
I'm not sure what I installed. Somehow XP just started downloading stuff...it doesn't really tell you what it's doing. I'm not sure how to go back and check exactly what has been done to my system.Go to Windows Update either via this link (http://v5.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/v5consumer/default.aspx?ln=en-us) or probably better off via your Start Menu. Sadly it'll probably want you to use IE but we all have to make sacrifices sometimes :rolleyes:. Anyway, on the menu bar on the left you should see the option to View Installation History.

Yesteray I installed some updates which are shown to be the following:
Security Update for Windows XP (KB885836) Successful 17 December 2004 Automatic Updates
Security Update for Windows XP (KB873339) Successful 17 December 2004 Automatic Updates
Critical Update for Windows XP (KB886185) Successful 17 December 2004 Automatic Updates
Security Update for Windows XP (KB885835) Successful 17 December 2004 Automatic Updates

These are the only updates I've had since the SP2 set, and it claims all of these are uninstallable via Add/Remove Programs if required. Anything you recently downloaded/installed is probably worth looking into. I'm pretty sure none of these have caused me a problem, though I'm running on XP Home which could make a difference (but is probably unlikely). I just jumped on the most seeded torrent on EZT, connected to about 20 seeds and got (steady) speeds of up to 80kB/s, which on a connection that can handle 180kB/s isn't as fast as it could be, but is fairly normal for a good torrent who's seeders are probably doing other things with their connections. Certainly nothing like the problems you're having anyway.

That's about all I can offer I think. Hope the Windows Update info at least provides an avenue of research :)

dorrcoq
2004-12-18, 03:11 PM
well, RainDawg, I've encountered the exact same problem the last 2 weeks or so. The occasional torrent goes at "normal" speed, but most are slow, and my upload speeds are totally crap all the time. I've checked and re-checked the ports, so it it either something hidden, or my ISP is choking me. Frustrating as hell.

Presence
2004-12-18, 03:41 PM
Windows SP2 does a couple of things that might affect your torrent client. First, it enables Windows Firewall by default, regardless of what you may have selected previously. Turn it off again, if necessary. Second, you might try reinstalling your client so its installation dates after the SP2 installation.

dorrcoq
2004-12-18, 04:07 PM
thanks, Jason. I'll give that a try. Also, on your site, the DD's used to regularly download between 600 and 800 kb/s, now I am only getting 250 - 300 :(

U2Lynne
2004-12-18, 04:39 PM
You know, I started having problems with speeds and firewall issues with the last upgrade of Azureus. I finally had to ditch it and now just use bittorrent (I'm talking about on my Mac). I could never get anything other than a Yellow smilie (only connecting to local peers), I was getting really low speeds, and I suddenly could not connect to any torrents over at EZT (still can't with Azureus). I switched clients and I'm getting local and remote peers, much improved speeds, and I can connect to EZT.

RainDawg
2004-12-18, 04:45 PM
Hmm...turning off my router for a little while seems to have solved it. Usually when it craps out, I can't get any connection at all. This time, I had really slow connection for a few days, so didn't even think to check the obvious :confused: . As far as I can tell, just shutting it down for 10 minutes and bringing it back up fixed everything.

feralicious
2004-12-18, 05:01 PM
You know, I started having problems with speeds and firewall issues with the last upgrade of Azureus. I finally had to ditch it and now just use bittorrent (I'm talking about on my Mac). I could never get anything other than a Yellow smilie (only connecting to local peers), I was getting really low speeds, and I suddenly could not connect to any torrents over at EZT (still can't with Azureus). I switched clients and I'm getting local and remote peers, much improved speeds, and I can connect to EZT.I have the latest Azureus on my Mac with no problems. It updated on here from an earlier version. OS X 10.2.6

U2Lynne
2004-12-18, 05:13 PM
I have the latest Azureus on my Mac with no problems. It updated on here from an earlier version. OS X 10.2.6
I know. I'm the only one I know with this problem. :/ But, as I said, I changed clients and I'm totally fine. I just haven't really had a chance to go trouble-shoot it. I should just uninstall it and reinstall it.

(I'm running 10.3.7, so that is one difference between our systems. Maybe it's a Panther thing?)

RainDawg
2004-12-18, 05:42 PM
Ahh...BitTorrent truly is voodoo sometimes....

gremlin
2004-12-19, 03:20 AM
well when I bought a new computer installed xp,zonealarm pro firewall
and abc bittorrent client and started to d/l and I soon realised that the speed never went over 120 kB/S
it dosen't matter if I UL or DL it's the same ..it seems like 120 kBs is the limit
with my old computer I got speed up to 150-160 farily often
not all the time but still sometimes tho
with my new computer that has never happend.... it's simply refuse to go over
120 kBs....I don't have a router only zonealarm ...closed xp's firewall
the only big diffrence between my new and old puter is xp
I had windows me on my old one..any tips is most welcomed
because this irretate me

U2Lynne
2004-12-19, 12:07 PM
Gremlin, you need to forward your ports through the XP firewall, I believe.

gremlin
2004-12-19, 12:16 PM
Gremlin, you need to forward your ports through the XP firewall, I believe.
yeah well Lynne I have closed that xp firewall...thanks tho

U2Lynne
2004-12-19, 12:31 PM
You can keep the firewall closed and just open the port for bt. There are instructions here (http://www.portforward.com/help/personalfirewalls/windowssp2port.htm).

Bieke2be
2004-12-19, 01:57 PM
you all are talking about speeds +100!
I never had these!
I'm on os windows XP-> firewall turned off.
I forwarded ports 6881-6885 on my router (can't forward more)
I've 3.3 mb/s download and 256kb/s uploadspeed, (this is a providor thing.)
I'm using TheSHAD0W's EXPERIMENTAL BITTORRENT CL (the latest version.)

For the moment i'm downloading for EZT: U2 las vegas 3 cam DVD:
4 seeds/ 13 leechers.
My downloadspeed is: 43kb/sec
upload: 11 kb/s

Is there something i can do more to speed up the download?
Thanks in advance
Jeanine

RainDawg
2004-12-22, 12:53 PM
Bieke2be, there is probably nothing you can do....your ISP likely has your connection capped pretty low. If you're getting green lights in you BT Client window, then your ports are open and your speed is as high as you can make it.

The only exception to this is to find out if your ISP is intentionally blocking BitTorrent, which some have started to do. There are ways to change over to other ports or mask the data so that they cannot tell that it's BT, but if they are not blocking it then these methods are going to take a lot of time to test for nothing.

Try to find out what your rated speed is from your ISP, and ask them if they limit or block certain protocols/ports.

dorrcoq
2004-12-22, 01:13 PM
My ISP is apparently doing something called "packet shaping" to limit the upload speeds for bit torrent. This then, through the inherent characted of BT, limits my download speed as well. Any way around that?

tdwriter
2004-12-22, 01:41 PM
I had a similar problem when my wife installed an Windows 2000 Pro update on my system. I finally fixed it by playing with the port forwarding on our Linksys router. Azureus is running fine now, but I can only get consistent downloads at 80kbs. Anything faster, especially over 120, crashes my pathetic system. Hopefully an upgraded processor/memory will solve that problem. Of course, I STILL cannot download from this site. Only converse with you fine folks. Merry Christmas. rWc

squalldog
2004-12-22, 04:01 PM
Bieke2be, there is probably nothing you can do....your ISP likely has your connection capped pretty low. If you're getting green lights in you BT Client window, then your ports are open and your speed is as high as you can make it.

The only exception to this is to find out if your ISP is intentionally blocking BitTorrent, which some have started to do. There are ways to change over to other ports or mask the data so that they cannot tell that it's BT, but if they are not blocking it then these methods are going to take a lot of time to test for nothing.

Try to find out what your rated speed is from your ISP, and ask them if they limit or block certain protocols/ports.

That seems pretty much impossible to me. If they give you problems change bittorrent to use ports 21 or 80, are they going to block ftp and http axx for u too? Secondly, check to make sure when you updated your windows that your network config didnt get messed up. If you are behind a router you should have a static ip on that machine so you can forward the ports to it. I am guessing you already tried that but might as well check.

Bieke2be
2004-12-22, 04:59 PM
I checked with my providor, and there are a few ports closed, but not the ports used by Bit Torrent.

I checked the network connections, the XP firewall is still of.
(is there some link i can use to check this? I'm no expert in these matters)
I'm behind a router and I believe everything is ok there.
I've a static ip on, ports are open.
BT client is giving my a green light.

For the moment i'm playing with the ports, i've port 21 open now, gonna wait a bit, and see what my speed is now.
Thanks anyway for the responds
Bieke

squalldog
2004-12-22, 06:21 PM
You can set bittorrent to use whatever ports you want, I was just using 21 as an example....im suprised ur isp blocks any, the news going around that isp's are blocking ports just plain sucks.

RainDawg
2004-12-22, 06:26 PM
The first way you can tell if you're firewalled is to look at your client...most have a color indicator. It'll be yellow if you're firewalled and green if you're not.

Another good way is to head to either bt.easytree.org or bt.etree.org (different sites ;)), start a download, and then look at the torrents' full list of peers. Find your username or IP in the list, and it'll tell you if you're firewalled or not.

RainDawg
2004-12-22, 06:28 PM
That seems pretty much impossible to me. If they give you problems change bittorrent to use ports 21 or 80, are they going to block ftp and http axx for u too?
No, but they could certainly watch how much you're uploading and limit your speeds based on that. From what I gather, doorcoq is a victim of just this kind of treatment, and other ISPs are employiong similar tactics. They like to limit upstreams to give people who are just web-browsers and emails the illusion that they have a fast connection....BT is pushing upstream limits to the max, and they are not going to be happy about that.

squalldog
2004-12-22, 06:30 PM
No, but they could certainly watch how much you're uploading and limit your speeds based on that. From what I gather, doorcoq is a victim of just this kind of treatment, and other ISPs are employiong similar tactics. They like to limit upstreams to give people who are just web-browsers and emails the illusion that they have a fast connection....BT is pushing upstream limits to the max, and they are not going to be happy about that.

I dont disagree with you there.

TheMamba
2004-12-22, 07:02 PM
No, but they could certainly watch how much you're uploading and limit your speeds based on that. From what I gather, doorcoq is a victim of just this kind of treatment, and other ISPs are employiong similar tactics. They like to limit upstreams to give people who are just web-browsers and emails the illusion that they have a fast connection....BT is pushing upstream limits to the max, and they are not going to be happy about that.

And that is the suck of it all..... :disbelief

blastroknow
2004-12-23, 01:03 PM
Packet Shaping - get used to it. It isn't a problem it is a "Solution".

Here are just 2 companies with devices between you and your good dl speeds:

http://www.ellacoya.com/solutions/

and the original from back in the internet boom times:

http://www.packeteer.com/resources/prod-sol/PSISPDS.pdf

And if you have a problem with that brother, maybe you need some "Morality Shaping" :wtf:

dorrcoq
2004-12-23, 01:18 PM
who the fuck are you, the spokesman for the cable companies? :hmm: Where is the "morality" in selling someone a service and then unilaterally changing the terms of agreement without notification (or even verification), offering no price reduction for a limited service, etc.? :nono:

Bieke2be
2004-12-23, 01:49 PM
You can set bittorrent to use whatever ports you want, I was just using 21 as an example....im suprised ur isp blocks any, the news going around that isp's are blocking ports just plain sucks.

Yeah,it is.
They claim it's for security reasons.
port 25-> anti spam.
ports 137-138-139 -> that's a window bug problem.
port 445: virus Deloder A uses this port.

(this is the info my providor gives for closing the ports. I don't know if the reasons given are trustworthy)

I'm limited at: 3.3 mb/s download and 256kb/s uploadspeed
Bieke

blastroknow
2004-12-23, 02:22 PM
who the fuck are you, the spokesman for the cable companies? :hmm: Where is the "morality" in selling someone a service and then unilaterally changing the terms of agreement without notification (or even verification), offering no price reduction for a limited service, etc.? :nono:

ouch - you missed my subtle sarcasm

I'm not an advocate of internet usage regulation just knowledgable in what happens on the backside of networks and some folks might like to read about some of the crafty tools being used.

RainDawg
2004-12-23, 02:28 PM
LOL...with terms like "increase revenue penetration" and "reduce cost churn", that first link reeks of good, old fasioned "business" mumbo jumbo. Just say those phrases out loud to yourself, and tell me that they don't send chills down your spine. Apparently, the only "moral" thing to do is worry about the ISP company's balance, not the quality of the service you get.

Get a clue buddy....the only "solution" here is a way for the cable companies to make more money offering you less of a service. Maybe for the corporate swine, this is a solution, but for us music traders, it's something that's going to cause us to look elsewhere for an ISP.

Think about this, since you've got such a nicely shaped moral consciense. Is it right for someone to sell you an "unlimited" internet account, and then call you a "network abuser" when you take full advantage of that? To me, the moral thing to do would be to spell out, in black and white on the service contract, what the limitations that are going to be put on my internet connection. Obfuscation of the actual terms of service and employment of unscrupulous and undocumented methods to limit people's useage on "unlimited" internet accounts is bullshit.

As many of these methods begin to be widley used is equal to the number of things people are going to circumvent. I think you're the one that needs to "get used to it".

RainDawg
2004-12-23, 02:30 PM
ouch - you missed my subtle sarcasm
Hmm....I guess I missed that too. I got such a chill out of reading that first link that, as I assume Dennis did as well, that we both had a knee-jerk "fuck you" response. Sorry if it wasn't you intention to endorse these kind of activities taken by the ISPs. We're all just a little on edge about this stuff these days....

squalldog
2004-12-23, 02:55 PM
Yeah,it is.
They claim it's for security reasons.
port 25-> anti spam.
ports 137-138-139 -> that's a window bug problem.
port 445: virus Deloder A uses this port.

(this is the info my providor gives for closing the ports. I don't know if the reasons given are trustworthy)

I'm limited at: 3.3 mb/s download and 256kb/s uploadspeed
Bieke

Yeah, I am not even sure why I said I'd be suprised...lol, I should expect it. I am also limited to 3-3.5mb/s download and 300kb/s upload. I don't have the exact numbers because they just changed, but those are close enough. I wish I was on the Internet 2 backbone and everyone else here was, we would dominate.

dorrcoq
2004-12-23, 02:59 PM
Hmm....I guess I missed that too. I got such a chill out of reading that first link that, as I assume Dennis did as well, that we both had a knee-jerk "fuck you" response. Sorry if it wasn't you intention to endorse these kind of activities taken by the ISPs. We're all just a little on edge about this stuff these days....

glad I'm not the only one who missed the sarcasm
:lol