PDA

View Full Version : sooo... close to seeding just need a little help


aegert
2005-12-07, 08:22 PM
I have created my firs set to seed... THink I did it right...

I want to creat the torrent and am using BT torrent to do it. I see that the announce is
HTTP://thetradersden.org:6969/announce but my tracker selection on the make of the torrent is greyed out and I cant change from http://mytracker....
How should I go about anouncing this seed? help... As well I read that the flac fingerprints were embedded in to the flacs themselves. How do I extrac them to list them in the seed?
A

alchemy71085
2005-12-07, 08:37 PM
Not having that BT client, I really don't know. :(

The only thing I can tell you is to switch to Azureus, and take it from there. That's what I usually use to make my torrents.

http://azureus.sourceforge.net/download.php

aegert
2005-12-07, 08:48 PM
Not having that BT client, I really don't know. :(

The only thing I can tell you is to switch to Azureus, and take it from there. That's what I usually use to make my torrents.

http://azureus.sourceforge.net/download.php

What about creating a list of flac fingerprints. I thought they were in the file themselves
aegert

Five
2005-12-07, 08:51 PM
http://krypt.dyndns.org:81/torrent/maketorrent/

maketorrent 2.1 has always worked great for me. you have to go to the "settings" tab first to enter the correct url:

http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/tracker/announce.php

I don't recommend the "simple" mode, I never found it simple... use "classic" mode, one torrent for the folder

if you get stuck just post back

TheMamba
2005-12-07, 08:54 PM
To create Fingerprints, use either Trader's Little Helper or FLAC frontend. Links to both are in the FAQ.

TLH: you want to go to the Create Checksum tab. Select the root folder and then select the flac files. Change the drop down menu to the right to flac fp. Then click create. It will generate the FFP's in the window below. Click on the Save button to the right, select the correct folder, name it (change the extension to txt). Then you can copy/paste the FFP from that text file.

Pretty similar with Flac Frontend too.

aegert
2005-12-07, 09:42 PM
Thanks Seed is up 2 leaches no data flowing yet... Think it is ok maybe takes time to have data flow...

TheMamba
2005-12-07, 09:50 PM
Cool. Yeah, you guys are all firewalled, so it will take a little while to get it flowing - gotta wait for someone that isn't firewalled.

www.portforward.com

aegert
2005-12-07, 11:02 PM
I changed my fire wall setings although the tutorial for my router was a little different at port forwar.. when I created the torrent1 gave it the static ip there was a selection for htp or u?something or both which is the selection? I see there is one leacher getting at a very slow rate I can burst much faster than that I guess my attemt at seting the machine to alow torent1 was un succesful???
A

aegert
2005-12-07, 11:15 PM
COuld this be beacuse I sit behind my cable companies firewll and am on there vpn? should I get the address that I am on at cablevision and use that?

U2Lynne
2005-12-07, 11:17 PM
Creating a torrent is independant of your port settings. The torrent can care less if you are firewalled or not. I has no information about the seeder in it.

And yes, sometimes the tutorial is a bit different on that site because they don't list all the versions of the routers on there. Just do the best you can. They are usually darned close. If it isn't your router or your XP firewall that is firewalling you (although double check the XP one, I've heard some people say they thought they turned it off and it wasn't), look for anti-virus software that could be blocking you.

aegert
2005-12-08, 12:17 AM
does it seem that I sit be hind a wall now?

Black Dog
2005-12-08, 08:05 AM
If your running Win XP, and you have auto-update enabled,

sometimes the updates will enable the XP firewall........

TheMamba
2005-12-08, 09:40 AM
does it seem that I sit be hind a wall now?

Looks like you're OK now! :clap: