PDA

View Full Version : Clipped?


Punkishlyevil
2005-11-06, 08:35 PM
Does anyone know why this is clipped even though it didn't go into the red zone when it was recording onto my PC. The show is from this thread: http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13993
This is the opening band though, not the one I posted a sample from.

http://www.seveninchsingle.com/hosted/clipped.jpg

The recording is mono if that has anything to do with it.

Five
2005-11-07, 01:42 AM
it looks like it clipped before it hit the recorder

anywhere there's a gain stage things can clip!

was it taped from a mic or a sbd feed?

mort
2005-11-07, 04:39 AM
Does anyone know why this is clipped even though it didn't go into the red zone when it was recording onto my PC. The show is from this thread: http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=13993
This is the opening band though, not the one I posted a sample from.

http://www.seveninchsingle.com/hosted/clipped.jpg

The recording is mono if that has anything to do with it.



what soundcard was used?

Punkishlyevil
2005-11-07, 07:47 AM
Five- it was taped through a mic. The link in my first post tells more details. It was the first show I taped.

mort- This is my source/transfer:

Source: RadioShack 33-3013 (mic) > Sony MZ-R55 > MD(M)

Transfer: 1/8th inch stereo analog cable>Turtle BeachSanta Cruz Soundcard>CEP 2.0 (to record)

mort
2005-11-07, 07:50 AM
Five- it was taped through a mic. The link in my first post tells more details. It was the first show I taped.

mort- This is my source/transfer:

Source: RadioShack 33-3013 (mic) > Sony MZ-R55 > MD(M)

Transfer: 1/8th inch stereo analog cable>Turtle BeachSanta Cruz Soundcard>CEP 2.0 (to record)



MIC WAS LIKELY OVERLOADED CHEAP MICS CAN NOT HANDLE HIGH SOUND PRESSURE LEVELS

SO NO MATTER HOW LOW THE RECORD LEVELS ARE IF THE MIC IS OVERLOADED THEN YOU WILL GET THIS PROBLEM

IT IS CAUSED WHEN THE MIC DIAPHRAM IS OVER EXTENDED

JUST LIKE A SPEAKER BUT IN REVERSE !

BC23
2005-11-07, 07:50 AM
Someone help me

BC23
2005-11-07, 07:52 AM
yes

Five
2005-11-07, 10:46 AM
MIC WAS LIKELY OVERLOADED CHEAP MICS CAN NOT HANDLE HIGH SOUND PRESSURE LEVELS

SO NO MATTER HOW LOW THE RECORD LEVELS ARE IF THE MIC IS OVERLOADED THEN YOU WILL GET THIS PROBLEM

IT IS CAUSED WHEN THE MIC DIAPHRAM IS OVER EXTENDED

JUST LIKE A SPEAKER BUT IN REVERSE !
I believe mort is correct.

when you set levels on your deck you can see if its going over the top and turn it down a little. the only other place it could have overloaded is at the microphone.

wayne
2005-11-07, 12:02 PM
I believe mort is correct.

when you set levels on your deck you can see if its going over the top and turn it down a little. the only other place it could have overloaded is at the microphone.

it could be the pre-amp - Sony D100 dat recorders (and earlier) are known for this. The mic is fine - it clobbers the pre-amp which saturates before the tape level detector. The levels look fine initially, you can tell though - when you turn the record gain control up the levels don't rise since they've been clipped by the invisible pre-amp stage. On a D100 if you're at an electic gig and recording with a gain setting less than 3 you're almost certainly going to end up with this problem.

mort
2005-11-07, 12:05 PM
it could be the pre-amp - Sony D100 dat recorders (and earlier) are known for this. The mic is fine - it clobbers the pre-amp which saturates before the tape level detector. The levels look fine initially, you can tell though - when you turn the record gain control up the levels don't rise since they've been clipped by the invisible pre-amp stage. On a D100 if you're at an electic gig and recording with a gain setting less than 3 you're almost certainly going to end up with this problem.

:hmm:


Source: RadioShack 33-3013 (mic) > Sony MZ-R55 > MD(M)

Transfer: 1/8th inch stereo analog cable>Turtle BeachSanta Cruz Soundcard>CEP 2.0 (to record)

wayne
2005-11-07, 03:35 PM
:hmm:


Source: RadioShack 33-3013 (mic) > Sony MZ-R55 > MD(M)

Transfer: 1/8th inch stereo analog cable>Turtle BeachSanta Cruz Soundcard>CEP 2.0 (to record)

just using an example - mics usually take some overloading its usually the pre-amp before the user-controllable gain stage which actually overloads in the recorder. You can only stop this by bypassing it - if you have a line-in option on the recorder. Or you can use an external attenuator before the mic-in, if there isn't a line-in. If the MZ has mic-in only then I'm betting this is the problem, if it has line-in and overloads its probably the mic.

Punkishlyevil
2005-11-07, 03:56 PM
Ah I bet that show clipped and the main set (Institute) didn't because I lowered the MD's volume. Does that sound right? The mic didn't actually have a volume, just on/off switch, but the MD deck has a volume and I put it a lot lower for the main show.

Punkishlyevil
2005-11-07, 03:57 PM
Although the main show was a lot louder than the opening band...I'm suprised it didn't clip even with lower levels.