PDA

View Full Version : Backing up CDs (unrelated to live shows)


irishcrazy2005
2004-12-06, 05:18 PM
I have a question that is unrelated to trading shows. I am in the process of backing up my CD collection to FLAC and then archiving on DVDR. In the event that I need to burn a new copy onto disc (which I, in fact, need to do for one of them), how should I burn them to preserve any sort of transitions between tracks? Should I burn DAO or TAO? I used EAC to extract all tracks.

-Phil

RainDawg
2004-12-06, 05:26 PM
DAO...always DAO

irishcrazy2005
2004-12-06, 05:29 PM
DAO...always DAO

Just to be clear, I'm talking studio CDs here. Still the same answer?

-Phil

jcrab66
2004-12-06, 05:37 PM
yes, still the same...DAO

dorrcoq
2004-12-06, 05:49 PM
since studio tracks usually already have a built in gap, burning TAO would just add an additional 2 seconds

RainDawg
2004-12-06, 07:47 PM
TAO is quite simply a stupid idea. Always DAO, for anything, all the time. If it was mastered with a gap, then fine, DAO won't remove it.

I see no point, under any circumstances, to use TAO.

jcrab66
2004-12-06, 08:00 PM
TAO is quite simply a stupid idea. Always DAO, for anything, all the time. If it was mastered with a gap, then fine, DAO won't remove it.

I see no point, under any circumstances, to use TAO.


i absolutely agree with this 100%...i have never understood what the point of TAO is

irishcrazy2005
2004-12-07, 12:11 AM
Thanks for all of the answers! To follow up on this question, is there anyway to use EAC to get an exact copy of the CD and somehow replicate any enhanced CD content that may be on the CD too?

-Phil

robkismet
2004-12-07, 02:03 AM
Back up a disc image and cuesheet. You will retain all the track splits exactly (including any precise gaps), and the cuesheet will contain a line for the "extra" data. I think you may need to copy this .bin file over separately though - can't remember. Anyway, the big IMG button in EAC is your friend :)

irishcrazy2005
2004-12-07, 05:24 PM
Back up a disc image and cuesheet. You will retain all the track splits exactly (including any precise gaps), and the cuesheet will contain a line for the "extra" data. I think you may need to copy this .bin file over separately though - can't remember. Anyway, the big IMG button in EAC is your friend :)

Thanks for the info. I was wondering if I could just get a little clarification. I used the IMG button to get a secure rip of the CD. Now I have a big .wav and a .cue file. I don't know what to do with these. I tried to open them with Roxio CD/DVD burner, but that didn't seem to want them. Also, I'm not sure what you mean about copying the .bin file over. If you look at the CD in Explorer, it has an Autorun file and a .exe. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!

-Phil

katnapz
2004-12-07, 07:44 PM
Thanks for the info. I was wondering if I could just get a little clarification. I used the IMG button to get a secure rip of the CD. Now I have a big .wav and a .cue file. I don't know what to do with these. I tried to open them with Roxio CD/DVD burner, but that didn't seem to want them. Also, I'm not sure what you mean about copying the .bin file over. If you look at the CD in Explorer, it has an Autorun file and a .exe. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks a lot!

-Phil

Instead of creating a bin file, EAC created one big WAV file. A bin file is basically just an image of a disc (or location), and can contain any type of data. The cue file is a set of instructions that tells a program what to do with a bin (or WAV).
If it's a bin file the cue usually just says "Burn this" without a whole lot more to be worried about. Usually if a program creates one big WAV file, the cue tells the burning app you use to "cut the track at this minute/this second...then start track 2 at this minute/this second" and can even keep those 2 second gaps in your recording (if your original recording has them). Try grabbing the cue file you have and drag/drop it into notepad...you'll be able to see much of this info yourself. I know people who create cue files by hand to cut up tracks instead of using a program to do it. If you want to be creative, you can have the cue file move your track points sooner or later by changing the info in the cue file, but that's beyond my patience. :) You can also use a cue file to name your tracks so they show up in your CD player window.

I haven't used Roxio for a long time, but somewhere up in your menus at the top there should be an option to "Burn Image" or something similiar. If you point your program to the created cue file, that file will tell your program how to burn your disc.

...now the only thing that has me scratching my head is how it's going to burn this extra multimedia data you mention since you've got a WAV. Maybe EAC didn't pick that extra info up? I've never tried to copy one of those audio discs with the extra stuff on it so I'm not sure. Maybe that's why Roxio won't take it? Think you'll have to wait for someone else to come along with that answer.

Karst
2004-12-08, 03:47 AM
I see no point, under any circumstances, to use TAO.

http://www.cdrfaq.org/faq02.html#S2-9

robkismet
2004-12-08, 12:31 PM
I think you can do it with CDRWin - I'll get back to you when I've had chance to check out the details. Does the cuesheet your rip has generated include a line relating to the .bin data as well as the .wav data?