PDA

View Full Version : Came across a TLH .st5 issue with a particular fileset


Drgiggles1
2014-01-12, 12:17 PM
I recently downloaded a jk1985-04-27 fileset where the files all contained SBE's. After fixing the SBE's creating a .ST5 fingerprint file was unsuccessful telling me that all files are truncated or corrupt. All the files test OK. I tried creating a .FFP fingerprint file that was OK. I even tried deleting the directory and re-downloading, with the same result. Any opinions on why a .ST5 file would not succeed where a .FFP file would ???

AAR.oner
2014-01-12, 12:38 PM
i'll PM roann the link to this thread, being TLH's creator maybe he'll have some ideas

Drgiggles1
2014-01-12, 08:49 PM
I suspect I may have some bad sectors on my hdd in my music directory. I'm running a chkdsk /r. I'll come back tomorrow to see if that does anything.

roann
2014-01-13, 03:19 AM
I recently downloaded a jk1985-04-27 fileset where the files all contained SBE's. After fixing the SBE's creating a .ST5 fingerprint file was unsuccessful telling me that all files are truncated or corrupt. All the files test OK. I tried creating a .FFP fingerprint file that was OK. ...
i'll PM roann the link to this thread, being TLH's creator maybe he'll have some ideas
I'm puzzled ...creating st5 and ffp checksums is the same process: decoding to wav format (works if the files test ok) and creating a md5 checksum of the raw wave data. If ffp creation works the st5 problem cannot be caused by bad hd sectors.

@<hidden>:
1) TLH > Analysis > Show audio file details for the original fileset: any problems reported? If not, what happens if you a) fix the SBE only for the first file and create the st5 checksum for it, b) fix the SBEs only for the first two files and create the st5 checksums for both?
2) TLH > Checksum > create st5 checksums for the original fileset: errors?
3) TLH > Analysis > Show audio file details on the fileset with SBEs fixed: any problems reported?

Drgiggles1
2014-01-13, 07:16 PM
Well it seems to have worked after running the chkdsk /r. I was able to successfully create a .ST5 file. I might have got lucky trying to read the files while creating the .FFP file but not while creating the .ST5 originally. Consider the issue a non-issue ....

Drgiggles1
2014-01-13, 07:49 PM
I'll tell you why I suspected bad sectors. Usually when trying to scroll through my music directory on the hdd it is 100% flawless with the flow. At that time and afterwards trying to scroll through I would get to a certain point and seem like a 20 second stall than it will continue to scroll through the directories. Also on 2 torrents at the time the jk1985 one from another tracker and The Who 1989-09-03 via TDD's tracker I received a data cyclic redundancy error in my client. The chkdsk displayed that it replaced the sectors for the data in the files affected.