PDA

View Full Version : What's a good, free, program to convert audio files?


kurt_fire
2005-08-13, 01:04 PM
I have been using DBPowerAmp, but my free trial-time has expired. I need a program that can convert the following (preferably with quality setting):
.flac -> .wav
.wav -> .flac
.flack -> .mp3

I have tried using the conversion ripper in JetAudio, but it doesn't allow you to convert anything to .mp3. I have the same problem with the Trader's Little Helper program (no way to convert to .mp3).

U2Lynne
2005-08-13, 01:07 PM
Have you looked at the FAQ under the Freeware Software Links (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_software)?

kurt_fire
2005-08-13, 01:10 PM
Have you looked at the FAQ under the Freeware Software Links (http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/faq.php?faq=new_faq_item#faq_software)?
No I haven't. I'll check it out now. Thanks.

After looking there I don't see a program that can do what I need. None of them do lossless and .mp3 conversions.

Karst
2005-08-13, 01:53 PM
Registering dbPoweramp only costs $14.

reece
2005-08-13, 02:02 PM
what about foobar2000?

feralicious
2005-08-13, 03:19 PM
Yeah use foobar, and set it up according to Five's Handy Dandy Tutorial:
http://www.thetradersden.org/forums/showthread.php?t=1112

The thread is about convertin gshn to flac but you can convert wav as well. After hearing many opinions I decided to encode in flac level 5 though.

witekk
2005-08-14, 03:48 AM
You can try Switch (http://www.nch.com.au/switch/) . Its free version has all the options you need.

AAR.oner
2005-08-14, 09:23 AM
Feralicious said it best^^^Foobar using Five's tutorial

Chachi420
2005-08-14, 09:37 AM
I didn't know dbPowerAmp had a limited free trial. I must have an old version before they implemented that. My copy was a free download but it is not limited.
I think you might have downloaded the "power pack" but they still have a 100% free version as far as I know.
Their website says # 100% Free (mp3 encoder on trial license), No nags, popups, hidden spyware or bundleware.
The mp3 codec is not free anymore due to legal reasons (but who uses mp3 anyway).
Looks like we're still good to go with dBpowerAmp Music Converter!

kurt_fire
2005-08-14, 12:35 PM
I didn't know dbPowerAmp had a limited free trial. I must have an old version before they implemented that. My copy was a free download but it is not limited.
I think you might have downloaded the "power pack" but they still have a 100% free version as far as I know.
Their website says # 100% Free (mp3 encoder on trial license), No nags, popups, hidden spyware or bundleware.
The mp3 codec is not free anymore due to legal reasons (but who uses mp3 anyway).
Looks like we're still good to go with dBpowerAmp Music Converter!
http://www.download.com/dBpowerAmp-Music-Converter/3000-2140-10042534.html?part=dl-dBpowerAm&subj=dl&tag=button

See on the top right, it says it has a 30 day trial.

Chachi420
2005-08-14, 02:31 PM
http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm
I think just the converter is still 100% free though it appears. I think the powerpack (and mp3 codec) is 30 day trial...


dBpowerAMP Music Converter (dMC)
Often called a Swiss army knife of Audio, dMC is able to:

* Rip digitally sound from Audio CDs and store in a multitude of formats, dMC is the Fastest CD Ripper and now AccurateRip Compatible
* Convert from one format to another, just about every audio type is supported: mp3, mp4, Windows Media Audio (wma), Ogg Vorbis, AAC, Monkeys Audio, FLAC and many others [Codec downloads], whilst preserving ID Tags,
* Volume Normalize audio files,
* Windows Explorer Integration - right click Convert To & popup useful information on audio files (such as bitrate, length).
* ID tag editing [Power Pack Option],
* Record from LPs or anything [optional Auxiliary Input install],
* Fully compatible with Windows 95/98/ME NT4/2000, Windows XP and Linux (using Wine).
* 100% Free (mp3 encoder on trial license), No nags, popups, hidden spyware or bundleware.

kurt_fire
2005-08-14, 04:10 PM
^^You may be right. It just allowed me to transfer .flac to .wav, but not .flac to .mp3.

benzster
2005-08-16, 02:32 PM
I hate to open a new thread so maybe this fits here. The problem:
I was given a sb recording after a show. I dl'd it onto my archos portable hard drive from the computer on the board. (drag and drop) The files would not play and the no codec error showed up. I tried windows and real player. I then loaded the file onto DVD architect. They played as the audio track but it was broken up (prob due to not stretching out the view) So, there is a file and sound is possible( not corrupt). I loaded new codecs for the players and ac3filter. Now the file will start with no error but there is no sound. The windows player shows it playing but no sound.

Properties:

2116k bps
24 bit
44 kHz
2 (stereo) channel
PCM format

Any ideas?

Five
2005-08-16, 02:41 PM
you got that from g-spot, right?

try opening them in Audacity or some other wav editor and see how far it gets then you can at least salvage that stuff by saving out to a new .wav. don't forget to dither down from 24bit to 16bit. probably best if you make yet another copy and experiment with dither settings, always comparing to the original.

benzster
2005-08-16, 02:55 PM
you got that from g-spot, right?

try opening them in Audacity or some other wav editor and see how far it gets then you can at least salvage that stuff by saving out to a new .wav. don't forget to dither down from 24bit to 16bit. probably best if you make yet another copy and experiment with dither settings, always comparing to the original.
Thanks! The name of the band is Brother Henry and they were in Sewanee while I was there. Name of the venue is Tubby's.

benzster
2005-08-16, 03:06 PM
Thankyouverymuch :bowdown:
That worked perfectly. Now I have to learn the application :lol:

Five
2005-08-16, 03:21 PM
cool if you get stuck just post here

benzster
2005-08-19, 03:13 PM
I'm stuck, hahahaha. Is there a way to insert track breaks to a single audio file with out taking it apart (creating and saving files) and putting it back together? :hmm:

Five
2005-08-19, 04:46 PM
nope, you have to recut it on the sector boundaries

have you done this before? you can do it with audacity by making it snap to sector boundaries and cutting the songs out piece by piece. then run a len check with TLH when you're finished to make sure you got it right.

lemmie know how far you get...

jazzbo
2005-08-19, 06:23 PM
I'm stuck, hahahaha. Is there a way to insert track breaks to a single audio file with out taking it apart (creating and saving files) and putting it back together? :hmm:

If I follow what you're trying to do: Yes, you can take a single wav file, build a cue file that defines the track locations and then burn with the cue file to produce a CD with the track markers.

I know I can do this in Linux with cdrdao (well it uses the similar format .toc but functionally close to .cue), I assume Windows burning tools support CUE files in the same manner.

Note that creation of .cue files has a negative work/efficiency ratio compared to any of the tools that let you visually cut into separate tracks.

Five
2005-08-19, 08:03 PM
good thought...

fwiw EAC can use cue sheets

zrs2c
2005-09-21, 12:53 AM
I was wondering if anyone knew a free FLAC software program for MAC OS X. Hopefully someone will see this!

AAR.oner
2005-09-21, 08:31 AM
I was wondering if anyone knew a free FLAC software program for MAC OS X. Hopefully someone will see this!
xACT: http://www.versiontracker.com/dyn/moreinfo/macosx/21952

this is the only program we recommend for MAC OS--does everything you need for trading...*accurate* extraction from AudioCD, encode/decode lossless, checksums, etc...its the jawn yo!