PDA

View Full Version : External HD problem


mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 05:33 AM
:hmm:Took my laptop computer to clone the hd onto my new desktop last night. Came home, plugged laptop into all the hds, but they don't show up on windows explorer. The weird thing is on the little devices icon in the lower right hand corner, where I go to eject flash drives, they are there. I looked at properties, and it says they are working properly. Changed settings to show all hidden files & devices...they are still not there?

What to do? :wtf: :duh::hmm:

jabulon
2012-11-30, 08:50 AM
Buy a new laptop as well!

Do they show in the device manager?

mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 09:40 AM
Buy a new laptop as well!

Do they show in the device manager?

Yes, they show in the device manager. & Even though I think you are joking about the new laptop, can't afford one now...

I was thinking of restoring to machine to the last restore point & if that doesn't work, resetting to original settings. Thoughts? :hmm:

havrefras
2012-11-30, 10:24 AM
I donīt think you will need to restore, when I had this problem once I just restarted the computer a few times and the external showed up, well worth a try..

Good luck.

mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 10:32 AM
I've restarted it 4 times. It might not be an issue anyway, since I'm going to plug the hds into the new desktop.

xjsb125
2012-11-30, 12:30 PM
Maybe try a different USB port? The top port on my desktop sometimes fails to recognize drives, but if I plug into the back ones it works every time.

mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 12:51 PM
Tried that. I printed off some stuff that has to do with the start menu that I'm going to try when I get home.

LeifH12345
2012-11-30, 03:37 PM
i had an external yesterday tell me all the folders were empty even though the free:used space was still correct in my computer. restarted and its all good. even though basically everything's backed up it startled me at first.

mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 07:22 PM
Amazing....the advice given on 7 forums worked....all is back...thanks for all your help! :clap:

AAR.oner
2012-11-30, 08:46 PM
so the old hit it with a mallet trick worked?

mdshrk1
2012-11-30, 08:53 PM
ROFL...go into computer from the start menu, manage, then disk management, then right click on the large blue lines....

JR Ewing
2012-12-01, 01:54 PM
Put it in the dishwasher and run it through one cycle. Good as new. I read that somewhere.

Unidecker
2012-12-01, 04:00 PM
sounds like the disk was not initialized..

mdshrk1
2012-12-02, 06:09 AM
Don't understand initialized, but all the files were still there. :woot:

LeifH12345
2012-12-09, 05:22 AM
Put it in the dishwasher and run it through one cycle. Good as new. I read that somewhere.

I've also heard you should stick it in the freezer (seriously!) but I would not recommend it.