PDA

View Full Version : Blu-ray Authoring


xjsb125
2012-11-02, 10:30 AM
So, do any of you have experience authoring Blu-ray? I have a lot of questions in regards to encoding standards, file formats, mpeg2 vs h.264, things like that. All advice or suggestions are appreciated!

jabulon
2012-11-03, 05:29 AM
Have a peek here: http://forum.doom9.org/index.php or http://www.videohelp.com/

co9ol
2012-11-03, 06:56 AM
I do have some experience doing this with Adobe Encore. I usually go with h.264, it gives you more quality for the same amount of space.

paddington
2012-11-03, 09:05 PM
h.264

Pick your profile and go.

picador
2012-11-04, 05:19 AM
why re-encode it unless absolutely necessary? re-encoding introduces artifacts and reduces quality.


tsmuxer will author blu ray without re-encoding and it's free. you can add chapters, but no menu.

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/tsMuxeR

jabulon
2012-11-04, 05:51 AM
why re-encode it unless absolutely necessary? re-encoding introduces artifacts and reduces quality.

tsmuxer will author blu ray without re-encoding and it's free. you can add chapters, but no menu.

http://www.videohelp.com/tools/tsMuxeR
+1. Just use the video compression as it is recorded (MPEG2/H.264/AVC/VC-2).

xjsb125
2012-11-06, 12:40 AM
The video I'm currently working with is being edited in Vegas. I've made all my edits and color corrections, and now I'm ready to render out a finished version for BR. I'm mostly interested in people's thoughts on bitrates (a good constant, or good variable parameters). Someone said they have authored in Encore, and that is where I'll be doing my authoring. This is a wedding video for some friends, and I want to have a nice BR for them to watch, so I do want to add menus, etc. I am familiar with TSMuxer, but it lacks the menu functionality I want. This is why I need to know what I should render out to so Encore doesn't decide to re-encode.

co9ol
2012-11-06, 10:58 AM
Out of Vegas use what ever you can find with the least compression. If you can, use Adobe Media Encoder instead of Encore's built in encoder, I've heard it's higher quality. (make sure you click the high quality button in Media Encoder). Also use variable it'll give more even compression. As to parameters, start with a preset and change the bit rates to as high as possible with out going over the disk's capacity. And then import into Encore and it should say something along the lines of "Doesn't need encoding". Make your menu and chapters then you can burn directly from there, or export to a folder and use another program to burn.

Unidecker
2012-11-06, 02:36 PM
DVD architect is sony bluray authoring app works great with no loss at all :)
why switch if your using Sony Vegas already keep it in the sony family with dvd architect
make a real nice menu and multiple audios if need be ... help and tutorials are in the app

enjoy and good luck..

xjsb125
2012-11-07, 11:42 PM
Out of Vegas use what ever you can find with the least compression. If you can, use Adobe Media Encoder instead of Encore's built in encoder, I've heard it's higher quality. (make sure you click the high quality button in Media Encoder). Also use variable it'll give more even compression. As to parameters, start with a preset and change the bit rates to as high as possible with out going over the disk's capacity. And then import into Encore and it should say something along the lines of "Doesn't need encoding". Make your menu and chapters then you can burn directly from there, or export to a folder and use another program to burn.

Good call on AME. I frameserved out of Vegas into it and rendered out a video that didn't need transcoding in Encore. Thanks!